Skip to main content

The Board

Board Members
  • 1. Sir Mark Moody-Stuart KCMG N

    PhD, MA, FGS
    68, was appointed a non-executive director on 16 July 2002 and non-executive chairman on 1 December 2002. He also sits on the Remuneration, Safety and Sustainable Development (S&SD) and Nomination Committees. Sir Mark is a director of HSBC Holdings plc, Accenture Ltd and Saudi Aramco. Sir Mark was chairman of The Shell Transport and Trading Company plc from 1997 to 2001 and chairman of the Committee of Managing Directors of the Royal Dutch/Shell Group from 1998-2001. He is a member of the board of the UN Global Compact and chairman of the Global Compact Foundation. Sir Mark is being proposed for re-election at the AGM on 15 April 2009.

  • 2. Cynthia Carroll E

    MSc, MBA
    52, was appointed chief executive on 1 March 2007, having joined the Board on 15 January 2007. Cynthia Carroll chairs the Executive Committee (ExCo) and sits on the S&SD Committee. She is the former president and chief executive officer of Alcan’s Primary Metals Group and a former director of AngloGold Ashanti Limited and the Sara Lee Corporation. She is a non-executive director of BP plc, Anglo Platinum Limited and De Beers.

  • 3. René Médori E

    Doctorate in Economics
    51, was appointed to the Board on 1 June 2005, becoming finance director on 1 September 2005. René Médori is a member of ExCo and chairman of the Investment Committee. He is a former finance director of The BOC Group plc and is a non-executive director of Scottish and Southern Energy plc, De Beers, DB Investments and Anglo Platinum Limited.